Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Friends far away

21 Comments

This week’s Daily Post Challenge, “threes,” is an invitation to respond to one of six photographic triptychs.

I scrolled quickly through them, and the last set of photos grabbed me.

I saw the distinctive roofline of the Sydney Opera House and thought, “Australia!”

And then, “Lisa lives there. Well, not in Sydney, but still.”

Just for a moment, the photos, and the thought of Lisa, pushed hard on a sore spot.

The propelling force of my life has been centrifugal. My friendships have been like the steamed kale I put in the Vitamix this morning—hurled away from the center, shredded, splattered up, out, against the sides of the container.

We live in a time of such tremendous mobility. Lisa and I became friends during our first week of college, and now she lives in Australia, and I live in Alaska. Two wonderful adventures.

Given the choice, I suspect Lisa and I would make the same decisions that took us far from home, far from friends, that pushed us to places where we had to recreate our lives, put down new roots, try to make new friends.

But the cost is high, and some days I envy those who stayed closer to home.

Some days I wish I could wrap my fingers around a cup of coffee, look across the table, and have a long talk with a friend who has known me for decades.

Today is one of those days.

 

21 thoughts on “Friends far away

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes~~Sheila’s Poem |

  2. Pingback: Blue Boredom Tape Men: Battle of the Pepsi graveyard | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: Seven Icicles, Part One | Stealing All the Sevens

  4. That’s a lovely story of friendship and I’m glad my photos of Sydney gave you a moment to reflect. Thanks 😊

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes (Skulduggery) | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Threes: A letter to my baby – Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  8. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: The Lake at Cwm Symlog calls to me… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: The 4th of March 2014 – The Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall, Washington, D.C. | Forgotten Correspondance

  11. Pingback: WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: THREES | Words We Women Write

  12. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Threes | Joe's Musings

  13. Pingback: No one saw the mirage but me | litadoolan

  14. Pingback: Threes – The Birth of Son #3 | Cancer Isn't Pink

  15. Pingback: Seven Icicles, Part Two | Stealing All the Sevens

  16. Oh, yes. I know this feeling well. Most of my good friends live far away. Well, not Alaska-to-Australia far, but a long drive far. Too far to just pop over for a cup of coffee or a glass of wine on a Friday evening. This post touched close to home.

    • You wrote a post about loneliness recently, right? I missed it somehow, but I remember you mentioning something about it. I wonder if that would be a powerful prompt in the blogging workshop. Hmmm.

  17. Pingback: rain [a small collection of haikus] | Ramisa the Authoress

  18. Pingback: Alleppy Trip | Wired With Words

  19. And some days some of us who have stayed closer to home envy those who made the hard decisions to accept the challenges and move far away to experience the adventures of new places and new friends!

Leave a comment