Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Zero to Hero, Day Two: What’s in a name?

2 Comments

Today’s assignment was to name my blog, edit my tagline, and create a text widget to briefly explain the purpose of my blog.

I named my blog “Nagoonberry” for two reasons. First, I liked the sound of the word. It was quirky, distinctive. I first heard the word “Nagoonberry” at the Anchorage Wildflower Garden Club annual plant sale. The second reason for choosing “Nagoonberry” was that naming my blog after the “Arctic raspberry” made a certain amount of sense for a blog that’s about paying attention to life in a particular location.

My current tagline is relatively recent, reflecting the greater clarity I have about the blog’s purpose: this world, this place, this life. Hidden there is a hint about the religious ghosts of my fundamentalist childhood. I was raised to believe we were in the world but not of it, citizens of heaven who didn’t participate in this-worldly politics, living this life with our eyes on heaven, not earth. By temperament and training, I look toward the future; “this world, this place, this life,” is a conscious attempt to counter that tendency.

The new-today widget says who I am: “A free-range Unitarian Universalist minister making meaning of daily life in Girdwood, Alaska.”

Thanks for following along! Two days in, and each day I’ve learned something. See you tomorrow!

 

2 thoughts on “Zero to Hero, Day Two: What’s in a name?

  1. I have always wanted to post comments to your blog, but Word Press does something frustratingly unfathomable to passwords. Out of patience. I never read you’re emailed messages any more out of frustration. Ever think of switching to BLOGGER? Wish you would!

Leave a Reply

