Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Transfer complete, at long last

14 Comments

Preparing to meet the MFC

A quick self-portrait snapped in our hotel room before we drove to Eliot & Pickett House

Nearly seven years after David Pettee warned me that “the process tends to move slowly,” the transfer of my ministerial credentials from the PC(USA) to the UUA is complete.

For nearly seven years, I have carried the live coal of vocation with me; now I have a place where I can set it down, and let it catch fire.

In the biblical numerology of my childhood, seven was the number of completion, and that feels about right.

I am so grateful for all of you who sustained and supported me during this long process–– helping me remember my true self, suggesting connections in my new religious home, giving me swift kicks whenever self-doubt had me dragging my feet.

If I haven’t thanked you personally, chalk it up to my MFC-addled brain. I remember you with gratitude in odd moments, when I’m away from a phone, when I’m walking the dog, as my head hits the pillow at night. Thank you.

Some of you have asked about my next steps. I’ve been “cleared for search,” which kind of means “hurry up and wait.”  For now, my main tasks are reading the Settlement Handbook, and preparing the packet of information that I will share with congregations. As the Transitions Office begins posting available positions, I’ll start imagining life in those new places. Even if everything moves at lightning speed, the earliest we would leave Alaska would be late summer, 2013. Given the glacial pace of the last seven years, I have no illusions.

So the next steps are still almost completely unknown, and yet I feel a new sense of security, knowing that whatever direction the path takes, I’m walking “in fellowship” with my new community of faith, together with a new community of colleagues.

14 thoughts on “Transfer complete, at long last

  1. I know I should say something congratulatory about all the hard work and soul searching, etc you have done to get to this point, but I can’t help buy tell you how much I love that coral color on you. You look fantastic!

    I am also very happy to you as you make this step and I am very proud to call you my friend.

  2. Congratulations, Heather! Welcome to the fold!

  3. Congratulations! Also, it is a great photo.

  4. Agreed – great photo, to go with great news. Many congratulations, Heather!

  5. Congratulations! Our congregation in IL is currently without a minister, although I’m not sure if we can afford one yet. It would be so cool if you wound up here!

  6. Pingback: Early voting matters | Nagoonberry

  7. Pingback: Finding courage | Nagoonberry

Leave a Reply

