Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

People can change

7 Comments

More than 20 years ago, my high school gym class went out to the track after a heavy rainstorm. The oval was littered with earthworms, stranded by the storm. It was nearly impossible to find a place to put our feet without stepping on one of them.

My squeamish teenage self freaked out. Yuck. Worms. I couldn’t imagine touching them, feeling them wriggle in my hand.

Fast forward to today.

A few years ago I bought a Can-O-Worms vermicomposting system. Now that we live in a small condo, my worm farm lives in the shower in our guest bathroom. Just before Thanksgiving I ordered a Soil Sifter Pail Buddy to make processing the compost easier.

Yesterday I assembled the Pail Buddy, and tonight I sat in the bathroom, up to my wrists in compost, casually tossing red wigglers back into the Can-O-Worms trays.

And then I remembered high school gym class.

When I wrote a few days ago about being discouraged, I was mostly talking about being discouraged about myself. About living with my personality, my quirks, my shortcomings. About things I’d like to change about myself. Changes that seem impossible.

I don’t know how that squeamish teenager became a carefree worm farmer. It was a gradual, unconscious change.

I get discouraged every time another of my self-improvement schemes fall flat. But sometimes, when I step back and look at the big picture, I can see the good changes I’ve made.

At this time of year, when the days are short, I need that big picture view.

Even if it’s just that I’m no longer afraid of worms.

7 thoughts on “People can change

  1. ahhh! i think you have realized the compounding effect of incremental changes in your thoughts and deeds. as you change at the margins, the changes slowly compound until one day you notice a difference and wonder, ” when did this transformation take place?”.
    it was happening all the time, just under your nose. we are contantly reinventing ourselves without being conscious of the process. sort of. kinda. maybe…

  2. Ah, a good reminder. Thank you.

  3. I learned to like tomatoes. I always wanted to learn to like them. It only took thirty years. Now I can be a real adult… 🙂

Leave a Reply

