Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Sharing the Liebster

4 Comments

You can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometimes you might find
You get what you need  ––The Rolling Stones

It was one of those days––nothing tragic, just stressful, hectic, tiresome. I was cranky.

And then I opened my email. Waiting for me was a comment notice from a new blogging friend, Tele from Hooked. Her email said, “I wrote about Nagoonberry over on Hooked today, passing the Liebster Blog Award torch onto you (and a few other Alaskan blogs). Hope that’s okay; you immediately came to mind as a site that makes my days more thoughtful.”

We all have writers we admire, and secretly envy. Tele is on that list for me. Her writing is clear, vivid, full of detail, shared from the heart. She has thrown herself into life’s adventure––and as a result, she has something worth writing about. If you want to meet the person who might have caught the salmon you’re eating, she’s writing great stuff at Hooked: One Woman at Sea, Trolling for Truth.

It means a great deal to me that such an amazing person likes my writing. Thank you, Tele.

Blogging is one of those keep-showing-up activities. Maybe it’s no accident that blogging rhymes with slogging. It’s hard work to keep writing, particularly when we don’t feel inspired.

But here’s the thing: as the song says, if you try, sometimes you might find you get what you need.  It might be a new gig, it might be interesting friendships, and it might be an award.

In that spirit, I’m excited to pass along the Liebster award to a few bloggers I enjoy. Liebster’s rules are few: simply thank the person who gave you the award, link back to them, and choose five nominees, commenting on their sites to let them know about their award.

I’ve added another rule for myself––no UU bloggers, except for the two Alaskan UU bloggers I know in real life.

I first “met” Strange Attractor in the blogosphere, when I was searching for other Alaskan UU bloggers. Since then we’ve met and become friends in real life, and that adds to my enjoyment of her writing. Strange Attractor describes herself as, “a recovering fundamentalist turned agnostic who is now on a mission to discover a meaningful way of being.” The spiritual journey we share––from fundamentalism to UUism––is a real joy; it’s helpful to have a friend who understands, because she’s walked the same path.  Strange Attractor’s writing is smart, incisive and kind––an uncommon combination, and one that I love.

Bridget Rainey, who writes at Twinisms, is another Anchorage UU buddy.  Bridget has not just one, but two sets of twins––teenagers and four-year-olds. Phew. Makes me tired just thinking about it. And did I mention that her husband’s in the military, which means he’s away quite often? And will be deployed soon? It’s no wonder that the second “i” in Twinisms is a wineglass in which Bridget is hiding. I love Twinisms because it’s hilarious, and it teaches me about military families.

A while back, a story in the Anchorage Daily News featured Alaskan blogs, and one of them was Finnskimo. Blogger Maija Katak Lukin, who calls herself “Finnskimo” because she is half Inupiat Eskimo and half Finnish, lives in Kotzebue, Alaska. As a resident of the Municipality of Los Anchorage, it’s a real privilege to catch glimpses of life in “real Alaska” through her blog. Finnskimo comes with a warning: “If you didn’t already know, Eskimos kill animals and then take care of them and then eat them. . . . If you don’t like that kind of stuff, go buy your meat from Costco or something.”

Patrick Flynn, who serves on the Anchorage Assembly, writes a blog about his work with the municipality’s legislature. I like his blog, not just for its content, but for the way he uses blogging to connect with his constituents. When an issue comes before the assembly, he presents the facts and his position clearly on his blog, and responds to constituents’ comments in a direct and civil manner. The blogosphere is a diverse place, and people use blogging in all kinds of ways. I’m glad that Patrick is using this no-longer-new technology to give us an insider’s view of Anchorage government.

My last Liebster award goes to Ira Edwards, a.k.a “Rooster Skier,” who experienced a spinal cord injury while clearing Nordic ski trails for the Alaska State Parks. Ira’s passion is ski racing, and his blog chronicles his transition to adaptive skiing and other sports. One of my favorite recent posts was the story of how Ira and his friend Moe stocked Ira’s freezer full of fish.

So there you have it––five blogs I love following. I hope you’ll check them out.

Congratulations, Liebsters! Pass the love along. . .

4 thoughts on “Sharing the Liebster

  1. This is wonderful! As lovely as it is to receive the Liebster, it’s even better to meet new thinkers and writers that I wouldn’t have otherwise been exposed to. Thanks for sharing, Heather.

    (Also, thanks for your kind words. Funny enough, I was having much the same kind of day today as you were when you received your Liebster…Sweetness tends to arrive just when we need it most, doesn’t it?)

  2. Thank you! I honestly didn’t think you read my silly little blog. It seems kind of trite next to yours doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

