Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Coming soon to a garage near me!

Leave a comment

Last month I saw an ad on Craigslist for an Electra Townie, a black bike painted with inspirational sayings:

“We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.

Love is a choice you make from moment to moment.

It is because we do not dare that things are difficult.

Dare to live, dare to change. Life is beautiful.”

By the time I called the seller, the bike was gone.  But by then I’d done some research on Electra bicycles.  Electra pioneered what they call “Flat Foot Technology,” and I knew from the moment I saw the graphic about it that it was exactly what I needed.

I used to ride my bicycle all the time when I was a kid.  But it was a low-slung model with a banana seat.  My current bicycle fits me properly–the bike shop said so–but my toes barely touch the ground.  It makes stopping difficult, and I feel uneasy riding it.

REI’s anniversary sale this year included 15% off bikes, and after considering all my options, I ordered the Electra Townie 7D.  And a cute basket.  No streamers, though.  Liesl said she wouldn’t ride with me if I got the streamers.

Summer in Alaska is amazingly beautiful, and it has almost arrived.  We’re about half-way through our two-week spring.  Soon I’ll have a way to be active outdoors that works for me.

Leave a Reply

