Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

All the way to namaste

2 Comments

I learn interesting things when I eavesdrop on the conversation inside my head.

A few weeks ago, the yoga instructor on the video I use ended the session with hands folded in front of her heart.  “Namaste,” she said.

“Yeah, yeah, yeah,” the inner voice said.  “Namaste to you, too.”

I overheard the sarcasm, and started thinking about how hard it is for me to make it all the way to namaste.

Like most UUs, I love the first principle of the UUA:  “the inherent worth and dignity of every person.”  But truth be told, it’s an ideal I aspire to, rather than a lived reality.

There’s a snapping turtle lurking inside my head, lying in wait for unsuspecting victims.   The turtle notices every imperfection, though its snide comments usually remain unspoken.  I am its most frequent target, but it bites anyone who catches its attention.

The fundamentalist church I grew up in was prime feeding ground for a young snapping turtle, and it grew strong and confident.  It continues to thrive in the divisive, mean-spirited secular world I live in as an adult.

But sometimes the snapping turtle slips up.  Sometimes its snark is loud enough that I can hear it for what it is.  And I can do something about it.

Each overheard judgment is an opportunity to counter judgement with compassion.

2 thoughts on “All the way to namaste

  1. Pingback: Wanted: UU Affirmations « nagoonberry

  2. Pingback: I Could Not Say, I Love You – poem « Variegated Vision

Leave a Reply

