Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Rousing Confidence

3 Comments

Yesterday I was listening to a podcast from the Interdependence Project, a talk given by Susan Piver.  Podcasts are my housework incentive, but I had to stop loading the dishwasher, dry my hands, and find pen and paper to take a few notes.

Susan talked about “rousing confidence.”  Not striving, not inflating the ego, but rousing confidence.  She quoted her teacher, Sakyong Mipham, who taught her these five ways to rouse confidence:

  • Live in a clean, tidy space
  • Wear good clothes
  • Eat good food
  • Spend time with people who make you feel uplifted; avoid those who don’t
  • Spend time in the natural world

Sometimes it helps when someone ties together simple things, all of which you already knew, but not in connection with each other.

Want confidence?  Want that self-reliance that Emerson wrote about?  Then do these things, the teacher says to me.  Don’t want to do them?  Then maybe you don’t really want confidence, self-reliance.  Your choice.  It’s up to you.

Gotta go now.  The floor needs sweeping.

 

3 thoughts on “Rousing Confidence

  1. Thanks for pointing me toward the Interdependence Project. It’s like we are in synch today. As an unrepentant slob, I am interested to see the connection between tidiness and confidence.

  2. I think I knew that all those things made me feel better; this helped me see that it was about more than feeling better.

    You are an excellent practitioner of the second one–wearing good clothes.

  3. Pingback: How we believe | nagoonberry

Leave a Reply

