Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Two-Bowl Banana Jack

5 Comments

Lately I’ve been drowning in full-time Unitarian Universalism.  Between volunteer activities at our fellowship, and the January Intensive I’m preparing for at Meadville Lombard, I’ve really been underwater.  Thus no blogging.

But I don’t want to get out of the habit, so here’s a non-UU post about banana bread.

Having a go-to banana bread recipe is important.  No matter how big the bunch you buy, no matter how quickly you try to eat them, there are always those 3 or 4 bananas that get overripe.

My favorite recipe lately has been one from Culinate, called “Jacked Up Banada Bread.”  I think banada’s a typo, but maybe it’s under the influence of the bourbon.  I like the spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves), the liquor (I use Jack Daniels), and I like the easiness of the recipe.

A few months ago, though, I ran into a problem.  There were weird bitter spots in the bread.  The only thing I could identify was the baking soda.  I remembered that when I sprinkled it over the batter, as instructed, there were lumps in the baking soda.

The purist in me hadn’t felt right about making a quick bread in one bowl.  I have always combined the wet ingredients, combined the dry ingredients, then poured the wet ingredients into a well in the dry ingredients.

I tried that the last time I made this recipe, and not only were there no bitter spots, but the texture was much better, too.  I think I’ll call this version “Two-Bowl Banana Jack.”

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Two-Bowl Banana Jack

  1. thanks for the website link!

    My go to banana bread is the no added fat version from fanny farmer. Mix up using the quick bread process you describe (mix dry ingredients. mix wet ingredients in another bowl. add wet to dry. bake in a 9″ loaf pan at 350 for an hour:

    3 ripe bananas
    2 eggs
    2 cups flour
    3/4 cup sugar (regular, or turbinado works fine, too)
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1/2 cup nut meats, coarsely chopped

  2. You’re coming to Meadville Lombard? I’m in Illinois. I attend the UUC of Joliet, and I live about an hour south (in the middle of nowhere, but an hour from everywhere). Will you have any free time for a visit?

  3. So true about the banana bread. I remember when I was in college I had several bananas going fast and did not want to waste them. I called my mom and she suggested banana bread. I’ll have to try it next time with Jack.

Leave a Reply

