Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Shattered luminosity

2 Comments

Sometimes we are formed by the persistent pressure of water, and sometimes we are cracked open in single moments by earthquakes.

There was a time in my life when I believed in God.  God was luminous, precious, beautiful.  God was the love that saves, the strength that protects, the light that directs.  God was the singular, self-contained, separate Other.

I sought God with all that was in me.  I yearned for God.  I wanted to know God.

I looked for teachers to help me find my way.

I found many teachers, and finally one I trusted more than any other.

I closed my eyes, and opened my heart.  I reached out, and gently held the luminous orb.

Then the door slammed shut.  Literally.

Startled, I dropped the ball of Light, and it shattered.

In the sudden darkness, I thought light was gone forever.

But now I see that light inhabits everything.

The name of the ball of Light was God.

The luminous shards embedded everywhere have no name.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shattered luminosity

  1. Thanks, Gretchen. This is the more serious version of our conversation about the “bearded egg.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

