Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Americans trust big banks

Leave a comment

Today I stopped for a bagel at Marty’s Bagels, next to Title Wave Books in Anchorage.  The man in front of me in line paid for his family’s food and drinks with a credit card.

The cashier asked, “Do you want your receipt?”

“Nah,” the man said.

I’ve seen this happen a lot lately, and I find it kind of strange.

You’d be hard pressed to find many people these days with kind words to say about banks.  But time and again, people don’t want receipts for things they’ve paid for with credit or debit cards.  They’re choosing to trust their banks and credit card holders.

I can understand the instinct.  I’m terrible with small pieces of paper.  Without the oversight of my detail-oriented partner, I’d be right there with them, throwing out the credit card receipts.  Just too much to keep track of.

My partner and I have been together for nine years, and she’s almost got me trained.  All the credit card receipts come home (well, most of them) and go under the Winston Churchill paperweight (eventually).  And each month we work together and balance, not just the checkbook, but each of the credit card statements as well.  All the carefully-saved receipts get stapled to the statements, and dutifully filed.

I have to admit that all this organization, while it goes against the grain, actually does feel good.   We don’t have to trust the bank to get it right.  We know where we stand.

And if that means keeping track of those tiny 1″ by 1″ airline credit card receipts–you know, the ones for the $3 snack box or the $2 earphones–then that’s just the cost of self-reliance.

Leave a Reply

