Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Eco-Frugal at General Assembly

2 Comments

I chose the frugal housing option for General Assembly–a dorm room at the University of Minnesota.  And I plan to use public transportation to get from the airport to the university, from the U to the convention center and back, and then from the U to the airport.

I liked the idea of saving money.  Nostalgia for my student days influenced my choice.  And I hoped that this would be a learning experience about public transportation–particularly light rail.

Doing this alone in a strange city, though, has raised my anxiety level pretty high.  I emailed the UUA General Assembly staff, and they gave me the following information:  I can call “Meet Minneapolis” at 612-767-8000, or visit their website.

Once I’ve done that, I’ll post updates with what I know.  In the meantime, if you have information to share about how to negotiate this adventure, I’d love to hear it!

2 thoughts on “Eco-Frugal at General Assembly

  1. It’s frustrating when people think that being earth-friendly means spending more. In many cases, such as public transportation and gardening, it means saving money!

  2. True. I’m terrible at math, but there’s a lot of money to be saved by being green–especially if you’re not buying the trendy stuff.

Leave a Reply

