Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Knives for Real Kitchens

Leave a comment

The finer points of knives — David Lebovitz has lots of, um, tips :: by Culinate staff :: Culinate.

In this article Culinate passes on the well-known rule of knives: no dishwashers.

My first set of knives had wood handles, so I had a second reason not to put them in the dishwasher.  I never used them.

For a long time I made do with a rag-tag assortment of mismatched knives.

Then I found a set of knives that were “dishwasher safe yet best washed by hand,” made by a reputable company, and a reasonable price.  I bought them, but then someone told me I really, really shouldn’t put them in the dishwasher.

So I used them, and because I didn’t put them in the dishwasher, and because I am who I am (less than enthusiastic about hand-washing), they sat in their dirty state for longer than they should have.  Soon they had rust spots, and I stopped using them.

Then I read that you can use a potato to clean rust spots.  I set aside an afternoon and cleaned the whole set.

It worked!  Now I use them again–and I put them in the dishwasher.

My rule about cleaning knives?  Clean them by whatever method makes it more likely that you will use them frequently.

Leave a Reply

