Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Brady & His Mama Need to Lose the Rolls

5 Comments

Brady went to the vet on Tuesday.  I went to the clinic yesterday.  We both got the same verdict:  it’s time to lose the rolls.  Brady needs to lose about 5-10 pounds, while I need to lose about 30.

Brady’s weight loss will be easy.  Fewer treats.  No “toppings” on his kibble.  Longer walks, and more playtime.

The clinic has a weight loss group that meets every Wednesday night, and I’ve set a reminder in iCal for the first Wednesday after we get back from Outside. It’s hard for me to believe that I could actually lose the weight, but I know that without external structure and support, success would be unlikely.

The group is based on the Medifast meal replacement program.  There’s no way that after all the work I’ve done in the past few years, moving us away from processed foods, that I’m going to go on a diet that requires me to go backwards.  The good news is that I don’t have to do Medifast to join the group.  I suspect that the initial weight-loss will be harder for me, but I won’t have the difficult transition back to real food.

I also have to get moving.  My life is too sedentary.   I am, as the nurse practitioner said, “deconditioned.”  So the elevator is off-limits unless I’m with my partner.  And the stairs will be my Stairmaster.  Longer walks with Brady–good for both of us.  Bike rides, once I trade in my cycle for one that fits me better.

There are moments in life when we teeter between believing that we can take charge of our life, and despairing that we can change.  This is one of those moments for me.  The balance tips in my favor at the moment, and with the support of my partner, the weight loss group, and even my dog, I hope to keep it that way.

5 thoughts on “Brady & His Mama Need to Lose the Rolls

  1. Good luck to you! I’m trying to lose about sixty pounds, and it seems surreal that it might actually happen. I hope the weight loss group revs you up and inspires you and gives you incentive to get the physical activity up; I’ll be thinking of you!

  2. I love that you include translations of your Alaskan terms.

    Good luck on your weight loss goal. It can be quite despair inducing and I’m glad you have a good support group.

  3. Pingback: Tangerines, Triscuits and Tigers « nagoonberry

Leave a Reply

