Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Do You Talk to Strangers?

2 Comments

I do.  It’s a learned behavior, mostly.  My mother consulted her fellow shoppers in the produce section, and struck up friendly conversations while waiting in line at the bank.  I was embarrassed then, but now I’m doing it.

It’s not a conscious choice.  The words are out of my mouth before I know I’m going to say them.  “Pretty flowers,” I said to the woman walking out of Fred Meyer today as I was walking in.  She paused, and ran her fingers gently over their pastel faces.  “I really like this kind,” she said.

It was a connection, in a disconnected world.  And that’s the other reason why I talk to strangers.

2 thoughts on “Do You Talk to Strangers?

  1. How else would strangers become friends? I talk to people I don’t know all the time — wherever there’s waiting, as I browse alongside at the library, the park, the street, the parking lot. Each connection made is a joyful blessing to the day.

    • Sometimes walled off and separate feels like safety, while openness and connection feel vulnerable and exposed. But there’s also a strength that comes from forging connections, however brief, and that strength is what you & I choose in the library, the park, the street, the parking lot.

      Glad to meet you, Naomi. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

