Nagoonberry

This world. This place. This life.

Still working on Zero to Hero

2 Comments

I’m still plugging through the WordPress Zero to Hero project with my buddies from the UU Blog Incubator, but most of the assignments have been behind the scenes.

Today I’m working on the assignment from Day 19: publish a post using a format you’ve never used before.

I’m playing with the quote format, and it will be interesting to see how it looks. I wish I’d thought to use it for yesterday’s post, which included an extended quote from a Facebook conversation.

Here’s a quote from fellow Zero to Hero Blogger and UU, Justin Almeida:

I’ve come to identify that “wisdom” is taking what I know, and letting that knowledge be guided by my heart. However, it’s not just a one way street. It’s also taking the passions of my spirit, and running those intense feelings and emotions through my rational mind. In all the decisions I’ve made that have been positive and constructive, I had taken the time to let my mind and spirit have a conversation about my actions.

I’ve just previewed this page, and it looks to me like the Yoko theme doesn’t do anything special with quote formats. A block quote still looks like it would in a standard format post. And I don’t like the way Yoko does block quotes. It uses a different font, and the text is larger. It doesn’t look good, IMO.

I suspect that if I purchased the upgrade that lets me play with fonts, I could fix this, but I’m not planning to do that. For now, what works is what I did yesterday: italicize the quote, and indent. This non-designer thinks that looks much better.

What do you all think? Do you agree? Disagree?

2 thoughts on “Still working on Zero to Hero

  1. I’m only seeing the mobile version of this website. It is large, bold, and prominent. On Monday night I will be on a real computer, and I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 374 other followers